Early Career Lawyer’s Award

Award Criteria
A practitioner may be nominated for the Early Career Lawyer’s Award, provided one or more of the following criteria is satisfied – the nominee:

  1. has made an outstanding contribution to the Tasmanian legal profession during the first five years of practice, or
  2. is an outstanding example to the legal profession.


  1. The award is to be judged by the current and two previous Presidents of the Law Society of Tasmania, and a representative nominated by the Early Career Lawyers’ Committee.
  2. Nominations are to be made by 20 December each year, and are treated in confidence.
  3. The award will be conferred at the dinner to mark the Opening of the Legal Year.

Nature of the Award

  1. A perpetual trophy presented to the winner;
  2. A cheque in the amount of $500 for reimbursement of costs for attending professional development events over the following year; and
  3. Two complimentary tickets to the Opening of the Legal Year Dinner.

*The Early Career Lawyer Award was previously referred to as the Young Lawyer’s Award.

Year Early Career Lawyer Award
2015 S B House
2016 K Martin
2017 A L Higgs; A M J Thompson
2018 A S McKenzie
2019 J A Sabapathy
2020 T Kapodistrias
2021 No award given
2022 A E Scott
2023 No award given
2024 M Fernando