About the Society

The Law Society of Tasmania provides professional services, resources, support and benefits to its members and the legal profession in general. Governance is provided by the Society’s Council and Executive. The Law Society of Tasmania is a constituent body of the Law Council of Australia.

The Council (of the Law Society in Tasmania) is the supreme decision-making forum of this State’s Society. It is assisted in its deliberations by a number of Committees comprised of Council and Society members.

The Law Society of Tasmania has two major functions. The first is as a regulator of the legal profession of the State of Tasmania. The second is to provide services to its members to assist in maintaining high standards of practice in the legal profession in Tasmania. The services offered to Society members are designed to assist the provision of timely and effective delivery of legal services. Hence, the Society focusses on areas such as education, indemnity insurance and risk management. The Society also provides a counselling service to members and a range of other personal and practice related benefits.

The Changing Profession

The last ten years have seen dramatic change in the legal profession in Tasmania. The Law Society of Tasmania, as a constituent body of the Law Council of Australia, has been supportive of the development of a truly national legal profession for Australia. The Society in Tasmania, for its part, has supported steps which has resulted in increased competition in the legal profession, advertising and lower fees, whilst encouraging delivery of high quality legal services through the adoption of new work practices.

For information about who to contact at the Society, by subject matter, see here.

The Executive Director is responsible to Council for the administration of the Law Society of Tasmania.

Luke Rheinberger
Executive Director
luke.rheinberger@lst.org.au

Francesca Beattie
Deputy Executive Director
francesca.beattie@lst.org.au

Amal Cutler
Professional Development Officer
amal.cutler@lst.org.au

James Weston
Events and CPD Administrator
james.weston@lst.org.au

Jenni Bradley
Executive Assistant
jenni.bradley@lst.org.au

Shelley Harwood
Membership, Publications and Website Administrator
shelley.harwood@lst.org.au

John Zuleta
Office and Accounts Administrator
john.zuleta@lst.org.au

David Wilson/Naomi Richards
Pro-Bono Lawyer
pro.bono@lst.org.au

Bronwyn King
Librarian and General Administration (Launceston)
bronwyn.king@justice.tas.gov.au

Council and Executive
The current Law Society of Tasmania Council and Executive can be found here.