Revised CPD Practice Guideline

A revised CPD Practice Guideline 4 introduces a fifth mandatory category of CPD: Equality and Wellbeing.

This new CPD requirement means when calculating your minimum 10 CPD points of CPD activity in respect of a CPD year, your total units must now include at least one (1) point from each of the following categories:

  • Practical legal ethics;
  • Practice management or business skills;
  • Professional skills;
  • Substantive law; and
  • Equality and Wellbeing.

This fifth mandatory category will include, for example, the following CPD topics (this list is by way of illustration only and is not intended to be exhaustive):

  • Awareness training
  • Trauma informed lawyering
  • Family safety and family violence
  • Unconscious bias, bystander training, sexual harassment and bullying
  • Mental health
  • Working with people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds
  • Sex, gender and diversity and the law
  • Indigenous issues
  • Staff welfare (including WH&S, staff wellbeing and the law relating to discrimination, harassment
  • and bullying)